When you get traffic from traffic sources like Add Words or Facebook CPM or use any other ad network for your digital advertising such as banner advertising, popunders, in app video ads or any type of online, visually-based ad, and Targeting Niche Relationships you can use the CPM, CPV (cost per view), EPV (earnings per view) and CTR (click through rate) numbers to figure out if you are getting a decent CPC. CPC is easy to calculate: If you spend $1 to get 1,000 impressions ($1 CPM) and you get 10 clicks (effective 1 percent CTR), then you paid $1 CPM and received a $0.10 CPC.
The Top Ad Networks allow you using dynamic URL tags. These are special tokens you can use in the URL field when buying traffic and creating a CPM marketing campaign that will be replaced with the actual information e.g. Targeting Niche ‘Relationships’ during the adserving process. Instead of Targeting Niche there could be any other token from this list below or even a combination of various tokens:
- [ISPID] – ID of ISP of visitor,
- [ISPNAME] – Name of ISP of visitor,
- [COUNTRY] – country of the visitor.
- [BID] – CPM price of the impression.
- [SCREENRESOLUTION] – Detected screen resolution of the visitor,
- [OSNAME] – Operating System name, for example Windows 8.1,
- [BROWSERNAME] – Browser name, for example Firefox 32,
- [DEVICENAME] – Name of the device that visitor uses to browse the Internet, for example Apple iPhone,
- [OSID] – ID of Operating System (for future use),
- [BROWSERID] – ID of Browser (for future use),
- [DEVICEID] – ID of Device (for future use),
- [IP] – IP address of the visitor (used for XML feeds).
For example, if you buy traffic from a lead source or an advertising network and drive that traffic to http://www.yourlandingpage.com/track.php?countryid=[COUNTRYID] these platforms will normally change the token into actual value. Here’s a populated link just as an example: http://www.yourlandingpage.com/track.php?Targeting Niche ID=Relationships .
Later you can use Website targeting option to block and blacklist under-performing websites and/or you can create campaigns targeted towards the best performing whitelisted ones.
You may also arrange rules using these tokens in your tracking system. E.g.: If Targeting Niche equals Relationships then redirect to some other page. Off page cloaking is one of the main reasons to apply such rules.
Display ad networks will also provide Smart CPM – a bid system that helps you to reach more traffic within the same Max Bid by realtime monitoring of bidding market and your bidding position and adjusting bidding parameters for each auction.
Pay Per View Advertising Boasts Advantages Over Pay Per Click Options
There are many theories about web traffic. Some people will drive traffic to their websites through blogging. Other people will drive traffic to their sites through article writing. Some people will drive traffic to their sites through paid traffic. Today we will discuss how to buy website traffic.
You may be thinking about buying traffic to get them to visit your website. If you are thinking about this, there are several things you need to know before you begin. Google AdWords is a very competitive ad program. Millions of advertisers have used their services for several years. The big corporations have recognized the potential with advertising with Google, and some advertisers spend millions of dollars in online advertising. If you are a new advertiser, you need to understand that you can lose a lot of money with paid advertising if you are not careful. You want to make sure you get a solid return on your investment.
When you start paying for advertising, you want to run a test and see if the advertising will work on a small scale. If the advertising will work on a modest budget, it will work on a much larger scale. I recommend starting your advertising with a small budget. Your budget for advertising will depend on how much you have to pay for each click to advertise your product. You need to look at the products you are selling and decide how much you are willing to spend for clicks. I would expect to spend from 20 to 100 clicks for each conversion. It is impossible to know what your conversion rates will be without testing the product first
If you make a profit from the test, then you can expand your advertising to a much larger scale. I recommend spending as much money as you can once you know that the campaign will work. Do not spend a lot of money in advertising until you know what is working. You can quickly lose thousands of dollars in advertising costs if you do not do things the right way. When you buy website traffic, you want to make sure that the traffic you buy is coming from keywords where people are buying products. A buying keyword will convert much better than regular keywords. I recommend that you do extensive keyword research to find out what people are looking for before embarking on a new project.
Cost per impression
Cost per impression (CPI), or "cost per thousand impressions" (CPM), is a term used in traditional advertising media selection, as well as online advertising and marketing related to web traffic. It refers to the cost of traditional advertising or internet marketing or email advertising campaigns, where advertisers pay each time an ad is displayed. CPI is the cost or expense incurred for each potential customer who views the advertisement(s), while CPM refers to the cost or expense incurred for every thousand potential customers who view the advertisement(s). CPM is an initialism for cost per mille, with mille being Latin for thousand.
Cost per impression, along with Pay-per-click (PPC) and cost per order, is used to assess the cost effectiveness and profitability of online advertising. CPI is the closest online advertising strategy to those offered in other media such as television, radio or print, which sell advertising based on estimated viewership, listenership or readership. CPI provides a comparable measure to contrast internet advertising with other media.
An impression is the display of an ad to a user while viewing a web page. A single web page may contain multiple ads. In such cases, a single pageview would result in one impression for each ad displayed. In order to count the impressions served as accurately as possible and prevent fraud, an ad server may exclude certain non-qualifying activities such as page-refreshes or other user actions from counting as impressions. When advertising rates are described as CPM or CPI, this is the amount paid for every thousand qualifying impressions served at cost.
Cost per impression is derived from advertising cost and the number of impressions.Cost per impression ($) = Advertising cost ($) / Number of Impressions (#)
Cost per impression is often expressed as Cost per Thousand Impressions (CPM) to make the numbers easier to manage.
Behavioral Targeting in CPV Marketing